Brittany Murphy is dead at 32

20 Dec

Another young performer gone far too early.

Brittany Murphy, who may be best known for films like Uptown Girls, 8 Mile, and Just Married, died earlier this morning of cardiac arrest. There are few other details at the moment, but a call went out to 911 from her L.A. home sometime around 8 a.m. Although paramedics attempted to revive her, she was pronounced dead at Cedar Sinai Hospital upon arrival.

I’m not sure what will follow this information, but I’m sad to hear of her death and my prayers go out to her family.

Murphy had not yet found a role she could totally shine in, but she was starting to do some darn decent work in smaller films that were flying under the radar. In fact, I’ve got a finished review for her DTV thriller Deadline sitting in my review queue and the thing I liked most about the film was her performance.

She had a bright and cheerful presence that could slide into quirky at a moment’s notice without it seeming forced. Last spring I saw The Ramen Girl and while the film itself was pretty much standard romantic comedy fare, Murphy held it all together. There was something of early Lucille Ball in her mannerisims. I was intrigued to see where she was going and what niche she would inevitably carve out for herself in the film world. Alas, that looks as if it wasn’t meant to be.

I see over at IMDB that she had several films in various stages of production. Deadline is poised for DVD release. I look forward to seeing those films at a later date, but lets focus on the unfortunate fact for now. A young woman is dead and undoubtedly, her family is grieving her passing.

5 Responses to “Brittany Murphy is dead at 32”

  1. urdead2me December 20, 2009 at 6:16 pm #

    RIP – Brittany Murphy, 32 had a whirl-wind Hollywood career: acting, singing, high profile relationships, temper tantrums, eating disorders. Even a mobster father. Now she has the classic ‘die young – stay pretty’ thing going too.
    http://urdead2me.wordpress.com/2009/12/20/rip-brittany-murphy/

  2. Frank Marmoset December 21, 2009 at 7:58 am #

    Nicely done, Bartleby.

    Can’t say I was a huge fan, but I liked her a lot in Clueless and Girl, Interrupted. She was also consistently funny as Luanne on King Of The Hill. It’s sad news when anyone dies that young.

    Made the mistake of skimming the obit thread at AICN yesterday and it depressed the shit out of me. Not the news itself, but the number of colossal assholes trying to score points for themselves by posting the most jaded, spiteful crap they can think of. I fucking hate the internet sometimes.

  3. Bartleby December 21, 2009 at 8:14 am #

    I forgot about Luanne in King of the Hill. Thats what she did that I loved that I couldn’t remember. I just knew there was something I had really liked that made this news all the more sad. But as I kept searching it out I kept coming up empty. You are right, she was Luanne Platter on KOH. Man, that sucks.

  4. Bartleby December 21, 2009 at 8:52 am #

    Yknow, I wasnt aware of her singing abilities. I saw her in Happy Feet but guess I never stopped to think about it much. I just found this collaboration she did with Paul Oakenfold, ‘Faster Kill Pussycat.’ It’s actually pretty darn good.

  5. MORBIUS December 24, 2009 at 2:51 pm #

    Have to agree with Frank, AICN sometimes truly is a Bastion of Assholery.

    So sad, to die so young, now it’s only ‘what might have been.’ RIP Brittany

    8 Mile, Uptown Girls, Clueless, Girl Interrupted, Happy Feet, Futurama…

Leave a Reply

