‘The Wolfman’ gets some howlingly good new posters!

8 Nov

WLF_Tsr1Sheet_352_10 (Page 1)Ok, so I definitely miss those gorgeous painted movie posters of days gone by–one for this would have been outstanding–but in the world of haphazard photo-shop rush jobs, these two at least have some style.

Joe Johnston’s Wolfman is a film I’ve been anticipating and dreading for awhile. The original is one of the all time great creature features and it’s still the most powerful and engrossing werewolf film ever made. Once the trailers started showing up, I became more intrigued than put-off. Aside from some unfortunate CGI, this one looks pretty good.

Here now are two posters(the one at the left was originally posted over at Aint it Cool News and the one below was scooped by Cinematical) for the film that help build that victorian gothic atmosphere that seems to be an integral part of Johnston’s vision.

Anyone remember the Eerie Series of books by Georgess McHargue? I found them as a child in the 80s and the two installments I most remember were Meet the Werewolf and Meet the Vampire. That new image of Benicio is summoning some fond memories of Stephen Gammell’s illustrations. Good times. Can’t wait.

 

 

WLF_Tsr1Sheet_369_3 (Page 1)

 And here’s one for Emily Blunt’s character. Almost a charcoal drawing, eh? It’s a little less snazzy, but it still retains that antiquated and haunting feel.

 I think the less modern and more mythic this one goes, the better. This particular imagery and her placement behind the tree reminds me of Real Life’s ‘Send me an Angel’ video. I know, I gotta kick the bad 80’s flashbacks. Check the vid after the pic.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

18 Responses to “‘The Wolfman’ gets some howlingly good new posters!”

  1. Xiphos November 8, 2009 at 10:02 am #

    Nice looking posters but I’m still not excited about this movie. To be fair I’m not jazzed by any movie any more. Most movies are let downs and I’ve found its better to have zero expectatons going into them. Thanks Hollywood for relentlessly turning out mediocity year after year and putting my desire to watch movies on life support.

  2. lord bronco November 9, 2009 at 2:54 am #

    CGI, looks like FFC Dracula-with out the kinky bits-or like a Van helsing, or ehhh American Werewolf in Paris…Great cast, but-it’s like Hollywood a-Lister’s have no choice but to play Victorian roles to maintain a shred of dignity in the cheesy Vampire-laden current underage Hollywood world.

  3. Bartleby November 9, 2009 at 2:57 am #

    American Werewolf in Paris? Ouch! That was harsh!

  4. koutchboom November 9, 2009 at 3:32 pm #

    Sweet!!! I’ve always wanted a sequel to Spawn!!!

    http://tinyurl.com/yh4tbuo

  5. koutchboom November 9, 2009 at 3:32 pm #

    Xiphos seriously! Go hunt down Mirageman!

  6. Bartleby November 10, 2009 at 1:41 am #

    Koutch, that’s odd about the Spawn poster and Wolfman similarities. I honestly wouldn’t have picked it up, but it’s nearly the same juxtaposition. That’s interesting that you remembered that. I barely remember Spawn at all. I only know I saw it in the summer of 97 and when we rented it on dvd it was the first place I saw the Dark City trailer.

  7. koutchboom November 10, 2009 at 10:23 am #

    Dude…..I own that poster. I love that movie. Spawn at the time was my favorite comic book character, and while the movie was cheesy I really enjoyed it. And having had that poster hanging in my room for numerous years, just sticks with you. Its ridiculous how similar they are. Wonder if you can find out who made them. I wish IMDB would put who made the posters and trailers.

  8. Bartleby November 10, 2009 at 10:41 am #

    it was alot easier when there were traditional artists doing them, easier to identify the style, more control and ownership. Now, although it probably doesn’t work that way, I imagine the marketing boy sitting there sipping his latte and suddenly thinks–Holy Schnikes! Remember that Spawn poster! Now imagine that…with a wolf!

  9. koutchboom November 10, 2009 at 11:21 am #

    Yeah I told Danny about it and said yeah they look similar. I said they should sue (if thats even possible), because they are WAY more then similar. Sure there are other posters like that, but none these similar. Of course everyones just talking about how great THIS poster is.

  10. Bartleby November 10, 2009 at 11:33 am #

    To be fair, Koutch, I always thought that Spawn poster was pretty awesome too. So awesome in fact that I was confused when they started using that terrible looking DTV stock picture of him standing in full costume for the vhs/dvd cover.

    It’s just a case of everyone(or mostly everyone) has forgotten or doesn’t care about Spawn. I honestly wouldn’t have picked it up if you hadn’t pointed it out, but it has the same appeal, generates some of the same thoughts–the monstrous wolf-like part is present, but we know Talbot is also a man, and when the monster is awake the man is hidden in shadows. Same sort of thing with Spawn–hero, but right now he’s also sort of Hell’s soldier and that’s the part you get to see.

    Hmm..Strange we have had such an in-depth conversation about this.

  11. koutchboom November 10, 2009 at 1:11 pm #

    Yeah I hated that stock photo you would see in a ART OF book showing off the custom for the DVD. It was the first DVD I bought. That was back when i watched everything on the DVD and they were loading them with tons of features. Also it was double sided.

    I wonder how the whole DVD cover things happens, because it seems that Blu Ray has pretty much said that it does not care about having good looking DVDs.

    Also Spawn is ALWAYS Spawn, he doesn’t turn to man form. He’s more like Darkman but controled by Statan.

  12. koutchboom November 10, 2009 at 1:13 pm #

    Also you mentioning how poster used to be painted and all that, so they were cool. Were you pissed about the lame The Mist poster? Especially since they went out of their way to make the main character a movie poster painter? (was that in the short story?).

  13. Bartleby November 10, 2009 at 1:24 pm #

    Actually, I have The Mist poster hanging here over my office desk. I saw it at a screening and they were handing out free posters and I nabbed one. I think it’s really kind of perfect for what they are going for with the film–the survivors standing there within the supermarket looking at out at, well, no one really knows. I thought it was understated and really kind of awesome work.

    I don’t recall the guy in the novella being an artist, but it isnt really pertinent to the story. I almost feel like it was just there so we could have a scene of Jane painting a Struzan piece for the Dark Tower.

    One of the nice painted bits going around right now is the poster for the American release of Red Cliff. It’s quite beautiful, although only the foreground elements may be painted:
    https://cinematropolis.wordpress.com/2009/10/14/trailer-round-up-the-expendables-toy-story-3-parnassus-and-more/

    I absolutely love the painted poster for The Shawshank Redemption Anniversary Edition. And Im putting up a review for House of the Devil today, and that has quite a nice, atmospheric painted poster too. And, Koutch, Im writing and editing the Ink review as we speak.

  14. Bartleby November 10, 2009 at 1:27 pm #

    He doesn’t turn into Al Simmons, it’s true, but the Hellspawn Necro-armor does come down and you have, as Clownleguizamo said, ‘Crispy’ underneath. My point was more that Simmons’ humanity is still there, under the Spawn armor, and the plan was that the Malbolgia would control Simmons via this, but he has rebelled and is instead his own free agent. I was talking more metaphorical I guess.

    Best part of the Spawn film was when Clown rolls up while these schmucks are trying to perform some dippy sacrifice for evil, and he remarks “Why does God hog all the good followers, and we get the retards?”

  15. koutchboom November 10, 2009 at 1:48 pm #

    AWWW YEAH!!! INK. I’m gonna watch it tonight.

    And yes. John Ice Age Leguizamo owned that movie. He made it. I wish he would still try these days. I saw his Spike Lee filmed stand up not too long ago.

    You watch 30 Rock? Did you see last week’s when Dot Com was trying out for the show, he started off doing John’s stand up.

  16. koutchboom November 10, 2009 at 1:51 pm #

    Man the last free posters I’ve gotten were Fantastic Mr. Fox, Wanted, Star Trek and City of Ember. They all pretty much suck.

  17. koutchboom November 10, 2009 at 1:52 pm #

    I mean thanks to Posters.com, posters aren’t cool anymore. New ones anyway.

  18. watch the wolfman online for free January 26, 2010 at 2:30 am #

    looks like an enteresting movie , i am a big del toro fan so def can’t wait to see this one in the theaters.

Leave a Reply

