Rorshach’s Coming For You! ‘Nightmare on Elm Street’ trailer hits!

28 Sep

a_nightmare_on_elm_street_poster

September 28th,2009–

And the horror remake parade continues. The ever ‘inventive’ Platinum Dunes just keeps the retreads coming. With Texas Chainsaw Massacre and Friday the 13th down, and a few of Craven’s earlier films in the bucket, Hollywood has finally turned its sights on Krueger. Which is too bad, because I was personally holding out for a Deadly Friend remake(note to lurking studio execs: that was sarcasm).

While the sequels were mostly campy and ridiculous 80s schlock, the original Craven film was actually a bit more sophisticated than the average slasher flick. The dream sequences were inventive, the teens–including a young Johnny Depp–were decent actors, and Englund was a persuasive boogeyman. That being said, I’m not broken up that they are remaking this. The series has long since devolved into a mockery of itself.

Earlier this year, it was announced that Jackie Earle Haley, who recently brought Rorshach to life in Watchmen, was going to play Krueger. And now the trailer is here and we can catch a glimpse (very, very brief of course) at just how he’s doing in the role. Personally, I think this looks interesting and its potential greatest weakness is that it seems to be too faithful to the original picture. I recognized about four scenes that were lifted directly from Elm Street 1.0.

The other tidbit to note is that the opening sequence here–Clancy Brown alert!– suggests that Krueger might be innocent of the child murders. That would certainly be a different angle from the original series and would add another layer to the Freddy bogeyman, a layer that  didn’t exist in the first incarnation.

Anyway, enough babble…check out the new Nightmare on Elm Street trailer and let me know what you think below!

And for the heck of it, here are the original trailers for Elm Street and the other dream-centered thriller of 1984 that also featured a claw-glove and a bogeyman: Dennis Quaid’s Dreamscape! For my money, it’s superior to anything featuring Freddy.

11 Responses to “Rorshach’s Coming For You! ‘Nightmare on Elm Street’ trailer hits!”

  1. The Great Fatsby September 28, 2009 at 10:25 am #

    I’ve always been a fan of the Nightmare movies, precisely for it being a campy and ridiculous series. While Jason was just wildly hacking his way through a carbon copy crowd of teens from sequel to sequel, Freddy made silly, fun and sometimes downright creative kills via his mastery of the plane of dreams. This movie kind of excites me. The recent reboots haven’t offered a whole lot to the fans of old slasher flicks, but at least they change up a thing or two about the main character that seem interesting, like Leatherface’s degenrative skin disease and Jason exhibiting intelligence and stealth. It’ll be interesting to see what they do with Freddy possibly being innocent. Granted, I also want to see more Rorshach gravelly-voice action…

  2. goregirl September 28, 2009 at 12:41 pm #

    Remakes scare the hell out of me. Not in a good way! I have not seen a single solitary remake of a horror film from the 70’s or 80’s that I enjoyed more than the original. NOT ONE! There are a couple I thought were decent, but NOT better. Definitely wouldn’t pay theatre price, but might consider paying new release rental price for it. Even that is a big maybe.

  3. Xiphos September 28, 2009 at 11:20 pm #

    for the most part this remake holds no interest for me except to see JEH as Kruger. I think that was an inspired choice and he might do something interesting in the role.

  4. hagiblog September 29, 2009 at 9:55 pm #

    Ah god, why is there a need to update the villains! Leatherface has a skin disease? Jason is actual a smart, stealthy killer? They were great movies for one reason, the bad guys were unstoppable killing machines! I don’t give a crap that Michael Myers had a bad childhood. Jeez, ya think, he only slaughters everyone in sight, pretty sure he had it rough.

    What little glimpse we’re given of Jackie Earle Haley looked terrible and that voice, oh god! Englund does Freddy so well and part of that is the voice. When we were kids we’d run around spouting lines trying to imitate one of the best screen killers ever. The way Haley sounded was awful, not even remotely scary. He shoulda stuck with the Rorshach voice.

    I’m sick of Platinum Dunes raping my childhood horror memories. Seriously, try to pull off some of your own stuff now.

    Man, am I angry enough or what!

  5. Nathan Bartlebaugh September 29, 2009 at 11:14 pm #

    Ha! I hear you. I think so far they haven’t targeted stuff I really loved, or when they do I ignore it. Like The Fog;I knew going in that would be crap so I did’t see it. I’m trying to think of a remake I was onboard for until I saw it. None are coming to mind. When they start doing Fright Night, then I will unleash the fury. That was my one true horror love back in the 80s. Fright Night. I am keenly interested in the ‘Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark’ remake. It has potential. I think I need to write that one up for the site.

  6. Xiphos September 29, 2009 at 11:31 pm #

    How exactly has Platnium Dunes raped your childhood memory? Have the orginals been pulled off the shelf never to be seen again? Has Platnium Dune invaded your home and took your copies of the orginal? Did they make a machine that replaced your memories of the orginal with shots of what’s her face’s belly? No they haven’t. They’ve just make crappy reboots of movies, just like every other studio in Hollywood.

  7. hagiblog September 30, 2009 at 8:07 am #

    The biggest problem I have with the remakes is the same thing that is wrong with bands covering old songs. There will be people out there who just don’t even realize that these films are remakes at all. They’ll just assume that nobody has ever heard of Freddy Krueger and this will be their impression of a great horror icon.

    On top of that, what the hell was wrong with the originals anyway? I see the point behind remaking King Kong, the technology is leaps and bounds ahead of what they could do then. There’s no reason to redo movies that don’t need updating.

  8. Nathan Bartlebaugh September 30, 2009 at 8:26 am #

    It’s a valid point, but then I was considering that some of the films we consider classics were, in fact, remakes. The Thing, The Fly, Invasion of the Body Snatchers, The Blob–heck, even Alien is a remake of It! The Terror from Outer Space–are all remakes that have mostly overshadowed the originals.

    I think, however, the difference is that those movies were re-imaginings of the originals, and brought enough new to the table. And while the movies they were remaking were about the same number of years old as the current films getting remakes, more changed in the world of filmmaking from 1950-1980 than changed between 1980-2009.

    There are issues tied to the way we watch, absorb and react to movies now too. The internet has rendered information so readily available that even brand new concepts and films are often spoiled or robbed of their mystery before hitting theaters. Movies have about one or two good weekends in them now and then they are obsolete in theaters and will have to contend with the world of home video.

    As a result, I think studios use that tried and true method of, let’s use a name people we recognize and go see for at least a weekend or two. I think this happens in the horror genre because while it’s a popular box office genre, it’s still isn’t taken very seriously when it comes to the film community at large. So, take a company like Miramax that will gladly churn out 3 or 4 horror films without blinking so it can finance a few Oscar contenders.

    Ironically,then, horror is clawing its way back from the ground level via independent filmmakers who see the value and promise in the genre and have the passion and committment necessary.

    We do better to focus in on those films and leave these remakes hanging in the breeze. Enjoy them for what they are, but that’s about it.

  9. Xiphos September 30, 2009 at 2:59 pm #

    Jonah,

    I agree about he internet but I also think if you want to keep things fresh for movies avoid reading about them. That’s what I’m doing with Cameron’s upcoming bust Avatar. I know the name of the flick and I know its going to be all blue and use cutting edge tech from the 50’s called 3D. Past that I’m going in as unspoiled as possible.

    I barely read articles anymore about movies and I long for the days when I got info once a month from things like Fangoria and Star log. Of course It was like 1980 and I was 11 so that’s not going to happen.

  10. Nathan Bartlebaugh September 30, 2009 at 3:38 pm #

    ha! Yea, it’s funny because running a film site, I guess I’m guilty of that, but I tend to try and avoid those kinds of spoilers. While it’s true I covered the avatar footage I tried to keep it as basic as possible and avoided some very big zombieland reveals that I hope aren’t spoiled by print critics this upcoming weekend.

    I just meant that in terms of studios, I think they assume it doesn’t matter if the film is original or not. They arent going to make some movieto surprise everyone because the geeks will find out, hype it as something fresh and new until when it arrives people are sick and tired of hearing about it.

  11. Xiphos September 30, 2009 at 3:54 pm #

    I think the way things are now the studios actively avoid any risk taking so new or inovative movies are pushed off the schedule in favor remakes, reboots and rehashes. they do this becasue those movies have a larger potential to make money the first weekend or on DVD due to name recognition.

    Also, let’s be honest here, just becasue a movie is “new” or has a fresh/orginal idea it doesn’t always means its good. You still have to execute your idea well.

Leave a Reply

