Dan Aykroyd Confronts Spirits in Baltimore Tomorrow! Be There!

10 Sep

Ok, I’m going to admit right up front that this is weird news. The advertisement above is for something called Crystal Head Vodka, and it represents one of the latest ventures from actor Dan Aykroyd. When this first hit the internet, everyone assumed it was a viral video, but I’m pretty sure that Dan truly believes the stuff he’s talking about in the ad. I’ve heard the man on NPR and a few other radio programs over the years and he’s definitely a big proponent of the paranormal and supernatural. And since you can most definitely purchase Crystal Head Vodka, which comes in a carved glass bottle that looks like the fabled Crystal Skulls, it isn’t a joke or a movie promo.

Do I think it’s weird that someone would try to boost awareness of the paranormal by selling vodka in a skull bottle? I dunno, I bet that sort of thing worked quite well in the 1800s. Weirder to me is that Aykroyd completed the video with a straight face, and that he’s actually going to be in Baltimore tomorrow promoting this product.

Yea, it boggles the mind a little bit to consider that a former Ghostbuster is going to be less than a mile from my old apartment, at Cranbrook Liquors, talking up his new vodka inspired by his belief in the supernatural. No part of that sentence really registers. Still, for all of those who are interested, you can head out tomorrow between 4pm and 6 pm to the store and meet Aykroyd and if you buy a bottle of Crystal Head Vodka, he’ll autograph the bottle for you. I’m not so interested in vodka, or getting a hooch container that looks like a prop from House II: The Second Story, but I’m a fan of Aykroyd and the surrounding weirdness only makes me more curious about this. Maybe if I buy a six dollar bottle of Port Royal they will let me get my Ghostbusters DVD signed. Somehow, I doubt it.

The address for Cranbrook Liquors is: 52 Cranbrook Rd, Cockeysville, MD 21030. The store’s website is HERE, Aykroyd’s site for Crystal Head Vodka is HERE, and for the heck of it, here’s the trailer for House II: The Second Story.

Author’s Note: Cinematropolis does not endorse the occult, vodka, or the films Dr. Detroit and I Now Pronounce You Chuck and Larry.

crystal-head

5 Responses to “Dan Aykroyd Confronts Spirits in Baltimore Tomorrow! Be There!”

  1. Xiphos September 10, 2009 at 10:10 pm #

    What the hell is the matter with Akroyd and all this paranormal garbage? Is it untreated neurosyphilis? Did he take a spill off of his scooter and suffer a major head wound? seriously Dan you’re nuts with this paranormal junk.

  2. goregirl September 11, 2009 at 12:21 pm #

    Odd. VERY odd. If I lived in the area, I don’t think I could resist going to that liquor store to check it out. The supernatural aside, I have to say, that is one damn cool looking vodka bottle!

  3. Xiphos September 11, 2009 at 1:29 pm #

    I agree that bottle is mint.

  4. The Great Fatsby September 13, 2009 at 9:48 am #

    My friend and I attempted to go in and get pictures of the event. Unfortunately, we ended up being the last people allowed through the door, and were rushed through the process of seeing Dan, and didn’t get the chance for a photo. As we were ushered out of the building, an aide behind me mumbled something to a store clerk, “They just pushed through the last ten people, he was getting testy”. I still love you anyway, Dan “Testy” Aykroyd.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Celebritylife.org - September 10, 2009

    Celebritylife.org tracking back – Dan Aykroyd Confronts Spirits in Baltimore Tomorrow! Be There!…

    Celebritylife.org tracking back – Dan Aykroyd Confronts Spirits in Baltimore Tomorrow! Be There!…

Leave a Reply

