Trailer for Peter Jackson’s ‘The Lovely Bones’ finally arrives

5 Aug

lb1

August 5th, 2009–

I read Alice Sebold’s odd and oddly touching novel The Lovely Bones a few years ago, while making daily trips on the Light Rail. It was an interesting and at times haunting read; simple, elegant prose and compelling imagery layered onto a human story. I enjoyed it very much but never quite understood the desire to make it a film. Peter Jackson is a great filmmaker and can bring some amazing visuals to the big screen (I even love King Kong) but he seemed like a far too literal minded director for this material.

LB2

The trailer here suggests that I was wrong and that Jackson has found a way to take Sebold’s words and visualize them in his own way. Check out the otherworldly splendor and earthly heartache deep down in The Lovely Bones.

3 Responses to “Trailer for Peter Jackson’s ‘The Lovely Bones’ finally arrives”

  1. Xiphos August 5, 2009 at 11:17 pm #

    I’m not so sure about this one. The trailor looks nice and all but I’m not sold on it. From what I understand about the book, PJ does seem a little on the literal side for this project.

  2. goregirl August 6, 2009 at 1:42 pm #

    I have not read ‘The Lovely Bones’ but the trailer looks intriguing and I’ve been a fan of Jackson’s work from way back. I actually just posted a review for his first film ‘Bad Taste’. I must admit, I also quite liked his remake of ‘King Kong’ although it was a little longer than necessary.

  3. Cello August 10, 2009 at 9:22 am #

    Ohhhhhhh i remember reading this about 4 years ago or so. This book is a kind of Sixth Sense-ish, only Susie doesn’t get to stand on earth as a ghost, instead she looks down from heaven, yearning to be one of the living, to grow up and fall in love the way her friends and sister get to. Such a sad, sad read but when I got done reading it, I found myself missing it. Too bad I am too lazy to re read novels or else I would. Movie looks sick though, can’t wait. Looking forward to your Ponyo review!

Leave a Reply

