The Hi-Def Version of the ‘Tron Legacy’ footage…Groovy!

27 Jul

light cycle tron

July 27th, 2009–

“Who’s that guy?”

“That’s Tron. He fights for the Users.’

Ahh. Tron. One of the pure bastions of the 1980s. Love it or hate it, Tron really encapsulates that decade’s attitude and perspective on technology, gaming and the idea of virtual identity. To think that this film was released when video games were little more than Pac Man and Space Invaders and yet look at the way in  which it approaches the idea of  interactive environments and user avatars. It was clearly ahead of its time. As a kid I wasn’t a fan. I’d watch it in the same capacity I also watched Dune or The Blackhole; drawn in by the complex oddness on-screen and a world  so completely alien that I kept looking at it even when the ideas didn’t make much sense or the characters failed to compel. It’s been a long time since I’ve seen Tron and I think I’m ready to take another look.

As for this sequel, is it necessary? Well,  returning to the unique universe of Tron in an era when most of its ideas have either come to pass or have proven completely laughable is probably one of the more interesting concepts for a sequel. The imagery is fabulous, and even though I’m not a fan I recognized enough elements and character design to become excited. I’ll be looking forward to this one, and hoping to see Bruce Boxleitner or David Warner return. Check it out HERE. 

tron2

4 Responses to “The Hi-Def Version of the ‘Tron Legacy’ footage…Groovy!”

  1. Xiphos July 28, 2009 at 5:20 am #

    Then I rewatched Tron again a year or so ago and I realized, I still don’t like it. I recognize the influce of the movie but honestly it bored me to tears.

  2. Xiphos July 28, 2009 at 5:22 am #

    Ok I messed that up above. The following sentence did not make it in: I wasn’t a Fan as a kid

  3. Jen B July 30, 2009 at 7:23 am #

    Tron=Boring…

  4. Hosting August 26, 2009 at 10:57 am #

    thanks !! very helpful post!

Leave a Reply

