Girl in The Seat Next to Mine

25 Jun

ME

June 25th, 2009–

You know what the greatest thing about the movies, or any art form/sports activity, is? For me, it’s the people you get to share it with. I’ve been to bad movies that were wonderful experiences because I was with people I genuinely cared about. Conversely, have you ever watched a great film alone and then eaten the bittersweet pill of having no one to interact with afterwards? 

I’ve been very blessed over the years to have a great number of friends and family who have shared in not only the movies, good and bad, but all the other vital and important parts of life. And of all those irreplaceable individuals, for the past 6 years one has been a friend, a guide and a fellow movie geek to put all others to shame. She’s my wife Jennifer, and she is not only the most precious person in the world to me, but one of the most knowledgeable and passionate film fans I know.

Today marks the four year anniversary of my marriage to this terrific lady, and as I look back on the rapidly fleeing time, I am in awe of how good things have truly been in my life. There have certainly been instances over the past year where the looming cares of existence have made it seem less than wonderful, and while not every moment of our life together has been bombastic sunshine and joy, it has without a doubt been the best four years of my life. The kind of years that make you wish for 30 or 40 more of the same. During that time, not every living scenario, job situation, or health issue has been perfect but having someone with you that represents the best of the things you believe in, strive for and desire helps immensely. It transforms monotony into delight, and tribulation into joyful endurance.

And when I look around, I know it hasn’t been something that I have any credit for. Anyone who knows me, knows that I’m incredibly fortunate to have someone like Jen and blessed that she has put up with me for this long! As a fan of the cinema, I spend alot of time looking at the dreams and visions of others, and considering what goes up there on screen, how it affects those that made it and those who see it. In the end, though, it doesn’t amount to much in the way of meaning unless it has a context. Jen has helped give my own personal dreams and thoughts a context and a purpose, and she makes me more aware of my own selfishness by her own selfless example. If its cheesy to relate all this to film than let me step back from that and put it simply; I thank God for her everyday.

My wife has made me a better person through her kindness and caring heart. She has made me stronger in my faith as a Christian because of her own belief and her willingness to think thoughtfully on things others would dismiss, and she has made me a better friend to others by her own example of embracing and caring for people I’d be tempted to ignore. And through it all, she has been the best sounding board for my creativity and ideas and no other girl in my life would ever, ever, ever, bother to have a 40 minute conversation about the societal importance of the zombie movie in popular culture. The first flick we ever bonded over? Killer Klowns from Outer Space.

Jen, you are my friend, I have and always shall be yours.

 

5 Responses to “Girl in The Seat Next to Mine”

  1. Jen B June 25, 2009 at 12:21 pm #

    I am bawling as I write this at work. I love you so much, honey! I could not have asked for a better friend. I am so thankful to be married to you and look forward the rest of our lives! You are truly an amazing person. Your passion all that you believe in spurs me on each day. Thank you for loving me so much!

    • Jen B June 25, 2009 at 12:22 pm #

      *Your passion for all the things that you believe in*

  2. Melanie June 25, 2009 at 12:44 pm #

    Too sweet Nathan….

  3. Gail Kerns June 25, 2009 at 6:58 pm #

    What a glowing tribute to a wonderful person.

  4. The Great Fatsby June 26, 2009 at 10:57 am #

    I agree, your wife is the best thing that ever happened to you! Wonderful post!

Leave a Reply

