In ‘2012’ something big and dumb will happen!! Count me in! (Pics included)

18 Jun

2012-6

June 18th, 2009-

Here it comes again, looking better than it has a right to….Roland Emmerich’s 2012 aka ‘The Day the Earth Accidentally Fell Apart’.  The trailer for this epic bit of silliness arrived on the nets today and I have to say, I’m a goner. I’m gonna see this one for sure, despite my utter lack of enthusiasm for anything with Emmerich’s name on it. Yea, back in the day I got a big kick out of Stargate and Independence Day but to say that I hate Godzilla and The Patriot is an understatement. Day After Tomorrow did nothing for me and I didn’t even manage to retain consciousness for all of 10,000 B.C.

Does this look any different? Not really but the visuals are so insane, and the overall feel of it is rather appealing. What has Emmerich not done to the world that he can do in this one? From the look of things, the entire orb has just started to crumble; like gravity is taking a day off or something. There isnt a cause hinted in the trailer for why the planet is bio-degrading but I’m hoping for something a little more tantalizing than ‘global warming’. One of the most interesting bits of the trailer is the concept of giant Arks created to transport the human race. Transport them where, though? If the world is just being flooded I guess they can be boats, but everything seems to be undoing itself. Does that mean then that the humans are headed for space? How far is Roland ready to take this one?

Whatever it is, its gotta a fun cast and clearly theres a good time to be had with those set pieces. I sort of wish this was being released next week instead of a certain giant robot flick. Just one question. How many times does a German have to destroy the White House before it starts looking suspicious? Just kidding, Emmy. You know we love you. Well, not for Universal Soldier…but still.

Speaking of stills, check out the ones below. Get the HD trailer for 2012 HERE and find out if that apocalyptic event the Mayans predicted was just the release of another Roland Emmerich movie.

Also, is it just me or does Emmy come off like a wierd hybrid of Stuart Smalley and Arnold Schwarzenegger in that trailer intro?

2012-7

 

2012-5

2012-3

2012-1

2012-8

3 Responses to “In ‘2012’ something big and dumb will happen!! Count me in! (Pics included)”

  1. The Great Fatsby June 19, 2009 at 2:43 pm #

    I have to say I agree with you on this one. I was dead set against this movie when I saw the teaser trailer months ago, and after the abortion of a film that 10,000 B.C. was, who could blame me? But all the insane visuals converted me from loathing another disaster movie, to looking forward to some cheesy popcorn fun. I’ll go see that.

    Sad side note: I do actually like Emmy’s Godzilla, but in the “GINO” (Godzilla In Name Only) sense only. I love the old Japanese Goldzilla movies, too.

  2. Jen B June 22, 2009 at 11:34 am #

    This is going to be ridiculous!

  3. Xiphos June 29, 2009 at 9:20 pm #

    Among the many drawbacks to an Emmerich’s movie are the trailors. They are much better then the movie itself.

Leave a Reply

