Ok, so who has seen Terminator: Salvation? Lets hear! How was it?

22 May

terminator_salvation

Heres the deal. I was hoping to see Terminator: Salvation last night, but my wife wasn’t feeling well so we stayed back and caught up on a few other films I had lying about. Thing is, the critical response to this one is brutal. No one is calling it awful, save for a few passionate voices, but it sounds like it might be even worse than awful–mediocre. I’ve been hearing lots of things, but not much from the regular movie-going public. What do you guys think about it?

I want to hear from as many as have seen it. If you want to drop full-out reviews, that’s cool, or just a line or two in the comments. If you have a link to another blog, send it by. I’m going to see this weekend regardless, but I thought it would be cool to see how united or disconnected the typical audience reaction is compared to the critical reaction.

So lets hear it! Is Terminator: Salvation a beacon of Professionalism or is it just a flippin’ amateur?

 

3 Responses to “Ok, so who has seen Terminator: Salvation? Lets hear! How was it?”

  1. Stuntcock Mike May 22, 2009 at 4:11 pm #

    **SPOILERS ABOUND KIND FOLKS**

    ***** fists out of five

    This is the first film in a long time where I consciously didn’t read a review or watch a trailer before seeing it. I had no idea whatsoever what the plot was. I knew Christian Bale was John Conner and Bryce Dallas Howard was his preggo Wife. That’s it. I have to start doing this more. I was 100% entertained.

    Bale’s Conner is a much more decisive and less whiney Conner than the previous two, but that’s no surprise now, is it? In fact, he fucks up a lot of shit in this film. Every time he’s in a helicopter, the fucker seems to go down. He sure wasn’t in it as much as I thought he’d be but then again, it’s called Terminator:Salvation, not Conner:Salvation. I quite enjoyed the nod to Crank:High Voltage when he started Marcus’ heart with the jumper cables. And finally, FINALLY, John Conner is a 100% fucking professional badass with a machine gun.

    And hey, that’s Michael Ironside doing his best Captain Ramius impression. Always nice to see him in the fat budget films. Too bad he got scuttled. Arrr.

    I liked how Moon Bloodgood had the black streak across her eyes for half of the film like that Replicunt Pris in Blade Runner. Plus I can tell you that she is fairly fucking hot. And she runs really fast.

    Sam Worthington. This is my first time ever seeing this guy on screen and I must say, he has charisma. Looking forward to more from him. He talks really quiet a lot of the time though, so pay attention. The scene at the beginning with Tim Burton’s Wife is pretty good. She’s bald. He kisses her anyway. Then he says, “So that’s what death tastes like”, which is some fucking cold-ass shit to say to a bald woman with the cancer. Y’know what though, fuck her just the same. She turns him into a Terminator for fuck’s sake. Not very nice. So, good on ya Marcus. Even though he’s a prick serial killer in the beginning, **SPOILER**he ends up donating his heart to Conner**SPOILER**, hence the title of this film.

    Everybody seems to have a problem with this McG guy. Sheesh, get over it. It would’ve been really easy to go the whole shakeycam route under the guise of “realism” which is just another way of saying “I don’t know how to shoot action so, please enjoy the following headache after which you’ll want to kick me in the face”, but he avoids it completely. Good fucking job McG. That whole Harvester/tow truck chase with the bikes was a humdinger.

    All in all I highly recommend this flick. Looking forward to the next two

  2. Oedipus Rex May 23, 2009 at 11:21 am #

    Terminator Salvation is a damn great film. I suggest anyone ignore the reviews and judge this one for yourself. It was almost guaranteed no matter what film McG made, it would be savaged by the critics because it wasn’t made by their darling James Cameron.

    This is a solid big budget blockbuster film. They don’t get any better than this.

  3. The Great Fatsby May 24, 2009 at 5:28 pm #

    Just came back from checking out this awesome flick at a cheap Sunday morning matinee. I went into it knowing it was getting panned by critics (who, lets face it, wouldn’t know what a legitimately good movie was if they got stabbed in the face by one), and was kind of skeptical. The opening title sequence started, and I saw both the movie name, and McG’s name not once, but twice within the span of 2 minutes, and I started getting a little worried.

    As soon as the movie actually got started, all of this apprehension melted away and I just let the waves of pure awesome wash over my eyeballs. I really think this film could have been called Terminator 4: McG’s Directorial Salvation, because after seeing this, I realized that although McG has turned out some PURE CRAP (I’m looking at you, Charlie’s Angels 2: Full Throttle), he does have some talent. Although McG is still an awful name. For anyone.

    I agree with the comments above that you really need to cut through the critic chatter and check this out for yourself. If you are a fan of the series, there is literally no way you won’t love this installment.

Leave a Reply

