‘V’ remake prepares to make contact–I hope theres a lizard baby!

20 May

v_tv_series

May 20th, 2009-

ABC has finally revealed a trailer for the pilot of its upcoming sci-fi series ‘V’, a remake of the 1983 miniseries of the same name. A ratings hit at the time, ‘V’ told the story of visitors from space who showed up in Earth’s atmosphere with their city-size saucers –suck it Independence Day!–and proceeded to aid the human race philanthropically. That was until we realized they were Nazi lizards determined to subjugate and harvest us.

As a child I remember catching bits of the debut and being haunted for weeks by the nasty little reptile baby. Anyone else remember that? The original miniseries hasn’t aged terribly well, but it’s still entertaining and it’s an opportunity to see earlier, less campy appearances by the likes of Marc Singer (Beastmaster!) and Robert “Freddy” Englund.

The new is gathering a bit of a genre cast itself, including Morena Baccarin of Firefly fame and Elizabeth Mitchell fresh from Lost. The production values look great, and the entire thing seems to have potential. I’m not a huge fan of remakes, but heres hoping they have another Battlestar Galactica here and not a Knight Rider or Bionic Woman. From the look of things, the humanoid iguana element is still in. Now I just hope for a rodent eating scene!

See the trailer HERE!

9 Responses to “‘V’ remake prepares to make contact–I hope theres a lizard baby!”

  1. bigdumbweirdo May 20, 2009 at 11:55 pm #

    After Knight Rider, the Bionic Woman and The Day the Earth Stood Still, I’m not getting my hopes up.
    But I will watch it. Just in case it’s any good.

    About the only remake I could get behind these days is a hard sci-fi remake of something that was truly outstanding, like Star Trek: TNG, Metropolis or Forbidden Planet.

    • Bartleby May 21, 2009 at 10:34 am #

      Metropolis does have a remake already, of sorts. It’s the Rin Taro directed anime version from 2001, which is technically an adaptation of the Tezuka manga version of Lang’s film. Still, it’s actually really good as an epic sci-fi tale if you can get beyond the Astro Boy style animation.

      I’m a big fan of this new Star Trek movie, but I mostly don’t see the point of remakes. I always wanted to see improved versions of movies that weren’t that hot in the first place. For example, taking the woeful Buffy the Vampire Slayer movie and turning it into the far better series.

      A good candidate for this: Highlander. Cool premise, schlocky execution. If you got someone who really cared about it and developed a mythology for the concept I could see it working.

      Thats why I like this idea. V was not a classic, just ground-breaking for its time. It still had a ways to go story-wise. If they improved that here, than this could truly be awesome.

      Forbidden Planet probably wouldn’t work as a hard sci-fi remake because most of it’s pleasures come from the pulpy camp and the fact that it’s Tempest in space.

  2. bigdumbweirdo May 21, 2009 at 2:15 pm #

    I like remakes because when they’re done right, they take something I loved, and erase the things I didn’t like about it (I’ve always had a pet peeve for bad special effects and cheesy costumes).
    The problem is that it’s so hard to do the original justice. You have to know what the original creator’s intentions were, and then you have to be able to recapture them without simply redoing the same exact thing.

    I personally love the idea of taking bad projects and remaking them. I haven’t given it much thought, but it is a wonderful idea. Highlander would be a prime candidate, but they’d have to make it darker and more about the character’s development than the original. Use the Game as a backdrop against which the actual story is framed.

    As for Forbidden planet: You can keep the humor and even the camp to a limited extent, while doing things in a hard sci-fi way. Hell, I think that has the potential to make it even better. After all, what was funniest about Spaceballs were it’s references to modern life and the little things you usually don’t think about in movies (bruises from the seat belts and the runs, etc.). If you take a hard sci-fi approach, you can use the many ‘little’ things’ that result from the portrayed technology and setting to find much humor.

    Errr, as long as it’s not overdone.

  3. The Great Fatsby May 21, 2009 at 2:49 pm #

    This looks watchable.

  4. Mavra May 21, 2009 at 2:49 pm #

    This is a double edged sword for me. I adored the original V and never fully got over the grudge of them ending the series on an unresolved cliffhanger (Yeah, I know it was because of a strike, but, dammit, I want answers!).

    I want to be excited about a remake but also don’t want to get my hopes built up and dashed.

    I most definitely remember the birth of Elizabeth and her twin. It scared the bejebus out of me the first time I saw it.

    Thanks for the fantastic post, Bartleby

  5. Xiphos November 3, 2009 at 11:32 am #

    I just added this to my Tivo today because i’m intersted to see how they will do the remake. Plus it has the hooker in from Firefly and and Dr. Cans from Lost.

  6. xiphos0311 November 13, 2009 at 10:07 am #

    Ok after 2 episodes I’m not very whelmed by V, its quite generatic.

  7. lord bronco November 14, 2009 at 4:59 am #

    Oooh-Forbidden Planet-Loves me that one-*I still* think the original holds up as being genuinely scary.

    Maybe the original decent take on hard sci-fi, as well being the first sci-fi horror movie…which yadda yadda has been said before.

    Is an obvious candidate for a remake, but i literally don’t think there is a single person in hollywood who could even begin to update it cogently-up to and including spielberg, cameron-any of those guys.

    They’d get hamstrung by casting choices-stupid committees…

    It’s actually one that really *could* be remade on shoestring digital (call it 10 to 30 milllion) dollar budget.

    Love that flick because the space explorers *are* explicitly military-and not a bunch of touchy feelie star trekkers. Not to make it like a Halo movie, but a scientific dread movie…ooohhh-that would be good

  8. lord bronco November 14, 2009 at 5:00 am #

    Like a plausible Event Horizon-which is a dopey fun flick in it’s own right

Leave a Reply

